What to Read Next: Book Recommendations from our CEO Celebrating World Book and Copyright Day

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email
Share on print

Share

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email
Share on print

April 23rd marks the United Nations World Book and Copyright Day. When many of us are limiting time spent socializing, we can leverage the power of books to combat isolation, stimulate our minds and travel thanks to the imagination. BOWEN Group’s CEO Shannon Bowen-Smed shares some of her favourite books and recommendations for your reading list.

#StayAtHome #WorldBookDay

Who Will Cry When You Die
by Robin Sharma

In this easy-to-read yet wisdom-rich manual, Robin S. Sharma offers 101 simple solutions to life’s most complex problems, ranging from a little-known method for beating stress and worry to a powerful way to enjoy the journey while you create a legacy that lasts.

“I am sure it is no coincidence that this book was crafted using 101 chapters because it reads as a ‘life’ 101 class. It certainly challenged me to think about the dash. That place between our birth and death date and how I wanted to best show up in it. P.S. I want a lot of people to cry when I die, so I work every day to live a good life.”

Pour Your Heart into It
by Howard Schultz

The success of Starbucks Coffee Company is one of the most amazing business stories in decades. CEO Howard Schultz illustrates the principles that have shaped the Starbucks phenomenon, sharing the wisdom he has gained from his quest to make great coffee part of the American experience.

“Not only am I a huge Starbucks fan, but I love the story of what it took to make Starbucks a reality. Howard shows fierce and undying dedication to a dream and the pursuit of getting hundreds of “no’s” to get there. This book is a great reminder that anything is possible if you are willing to work hard enough at it.”

Conversations with God
by Neale Donald Walsch

Suppose you could ask God the most puzzling questions about existence – questions about love and faith, life and death, good and evil. Suppose God provided clear, understandable answers.

“This is one of a series of four books written by Neale and, for me, my absolute favourite. The premise is that Neale has lived a Godly life, but despite his commitment to walk with God, everything has gone wrong in his world. Feeling abandoned and at his last rope, Neale questions his life and his path when suddenly, God starts a conversation with him. This exchange, real or not, is a fascinating read and one that challenged me to question my thoughts and perspectives, unlike any other book I have ever read.”

The Four Agreements
by Don Miguel Ruiz

In The Four Agreements, bestselling author don Miguel Ruiz reveals the source of self-limiting beliefs that rob us of joy and create needless suffering. Based on ancient Toltec wisdom, The Four Agreements offer a powerful code of conduct that can rapidly transform our lives to a new experience of freedom, true happiness and love.

“Without exception, the best afternoon read of my life. Four simple rules to live by, and yet, after years of working on them, I still struggle to get them all figured out.  My best test is when I try to recite the rules. I always forget one, and then I know I need to address that issue in my world. This book should be on everyone’s shelf.”

Along Came a Spider
by James Patterson

James Patterson has had more New York Times bestsellers than any other writer, ever, according to Guinness World Records. Since his first novel won the Edgar Award in 1977, James Patterson’s books have sold more than 300 million copies.

“When I am not reading self-awareness books or autobiographies, I do like to treat myself to a great murder mystery.  I love anything that James Patterson writes, but if I can only pick one, then I think Along Came a Spider is one of his classics.”